Why is Lunenburg so Bold, Bright and Beautiful?

Lunenburg is such an eclectic mix.

Some say even, hip.

Come, I’ll show you…

lunenburg-from-the-wharf

Many wonder why Bluenosers paint their houses such bright colors.

I’ve read that some believe it’s because of the fog.

Fog?

What fog?

lunenburg-from-the-wharf-2

I’ve also heard, bright and bold colors welcome,

Friends, family and those, there, come-from-awayers.

st-johns-anglican-church-lunenburg

Or, maybe color saturation is merely a bold attempt…

To illicit favouritism from You-Know-Who.

multi-colored-entrance-way-lunenburg

Perhaps, bright multi-colored coding is an ingenious mechanism,

For remembering tiny spaces Bluenosers move and squeeze houses, into.

“Homing beacon’ is that a Lunenburg term, I wonder?

sideways-house-lunenburg

Backwards or sideways?

What do you think?

It works though, right?

distillery-lunenburg

Like hummingbirds drawn to special flowers,

Their beautiful colors might simply just help Bluenosers find their way back home,

After one or two, too many…

Shhh…whosaidthatttt?

lunenburg-from-afar

As the sun sets, I make my way back around, and up the hill, again.

lunenburg-academy

Is it possible that bright, bold colors,

Ward off spirits that may, or may not, lurk in dark shadows?

But even here, warm golden hues hold a certain je ne sais quoi…

lunenburg-cemetary

As dusk turns to darkness,

I walk towards what I hope to be, answers.

st-johns-anglican-church

As majestic at night as in, daylight.

Shouldn’t I learn something here,

Within the House of truth?

st-johns-anglican-church-nave

I knock and listen…

Are all lips are sealed?

st-johns-doors

No answer.  I turn away.

I walk back down towards the water, again.

lunenburg-wall-mural

As the evening draws to a close,

I come to realize that

Nary a soul will ever reveal the tale of how Lunenburg came to be,

So bold, so bright, so beautiful.

Don’t believe me?

Come… See for yourself.

~

 

 

Please feel free to like, share and comment…:)

Sincerely,

Judi

 ©Judi Risser We Are All Awakening

Visit Lunenburg

Visit St John’s Anglican Church

Visit Lunenburg Academy

Visit Ironworks Distillery

One thought on “Why is Lunenburg so Bold, Bright and Beautiful?

Leave a Reply

