This Book

I open the book

Read the first page

Sniff, I think…

It smells like it’s been hidden away for many, many years

Like you, if you were still here

Wait, I can you laugh

No, it’s just a car passing by

But, I see you smile

A faint vision

At that moment

I know, that yes

You are here

Across the table from me

I sigh deeply

Taking in the worn scent

Of a beloved book

Remembering the kindness of your touch

I wipe the tears that escape

And set to reading

Mirrors of the Soul.

 

Kahlil Gibran- Mirrors of the Soul

© Jan 2017  Judi Risser All Rights Reserved

 

 

4 thoughts on “This Book

  1. So meaninful and so full of wisdom. Let’s talk about Kosovo sometime???

    On Sun, Jan 8, 2017 at 9:10 AM, We Are All Awakening wrote:

    > Judi Risser posted: “I open the book Read the first page Sniff, wait It > smells like… It’s been hidden away for many, many years Like you, if you > were still here Ah, is that your laugh I hear? No, it’s just a car passing > by But, I see you smile A faint vision At that moment ” >

    Like

    1. Hi Marlene, I don’t really like to talk about it, which is why I was so surprised that it just popped to the surface last evening while writing Young Syrians.

      Like

Leave a Reply

