My Friend

As I hugged you tighter and tighter,

I felt you drifting further and further away.

You were being pulled along by your river of tears,

drowning in a torrent of fears.

I sensed your anxiety bubbling to the surface.

What was the purpose?

Your pure essence barely visible, sinking and gasping for air.

I was so moved by your attempts at self control.

Such sorrow.

Just let it go.

Silently, I asked your pain, fears and anxiety to seek refuge in my heart of compassion.

Having nowhere to flee,

that heavy black mass sought refuge in me.

While I quietly embraced you with love and compassion,

the flood of thick, black water finally began to subside…

Ever so slowly.

Courageously, unabatedly, you shared your truth with me.

My light honoured your vulnerability,

clothed your bare soul and smiled into your heart eyes.

And, each time I entrusted your rightful gifts back to you, you calmed.

As you let go of everything that no longer served you,

fear, sorrow and pain released,

you must have known that I would have held you until you were able to see yourself.

As truth, love and peace.

A shining light, innocence and purity, is the only way I know you, my beautiful friend.

As we broke apart, you said you felt lighter and laughed.

What beautiful music!

I saw your inner glow re-ignite

You’ve come home, at last.

With tears of my own

I welcomed you back.

Featured Image- Clam Harbour, Nova Scotia, Canada

© 2016 Judi Risser All Rights Reserved

4 thoughts on “My Friend

  1. This poem is so beautiful Judi and means so much to so very many people,leave it to you to put the real side of life in perspective. Love you and Thank you.xo

    Like

  2. Judi, Is your homestead one on here. I so loved the writing called My Friend. It touched me deeply. You are so genuine and your heart is so in the right place. I appreciate you dear one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

