My life is nothing like I imagined it to be

I never planned any of this

 

Believe you me

 

It’s not what one would think

I own nothing of which to speak

 

No house, not even a spouse

Alone, I eat, sleep and drink

 

Even though I’ve had all the things that money can buy

I’ve been lost for a long time

 

Where did I truly belong?

 

Always searching here, there and everywhere

Sometimes wondering, who the hell even cared?

 

At once, everything changed

As it always does

 

It happened much like this:

 

While birds, squirrels and wind were whistling at me

These three questions fell right out of an enormous tree

 

Exactly, who was I pretending to be?

What of all this self-deceit?

Why has it taken so long for me to see?

 

I need only accept myself just as I am

Then, I pleaded: show me how I begin

 

“Just let go of everything you think you know”

 

And, when I did

Everything just… slid

 

Right into the ground

 

Roof caved in

Floors gave way

Doors split wide open

Windows blew… sky high

 

I became a mortal catastrophe!

 

And, it was from this moment

I found myself free

 

I had nothing left to call my own

That’s when I knew

 

I am

My own home.

 

© 2016 Judi Risser All Rights Reserved

